Select Page
Johannes Haage Drift <br/> DRIFT

Johannes Haage Drift

Johannes Haage – guitar
Matthias Pichler- bass
Joe Smith- drums




“Drift” is the debut recording of Johannes Haage´s collaborative trio with Matthias Pichler and Joe Smith.
It features compositions by guitarist Johannes Haage and drummer Joe Smith which offer a great variety of stylistic starting points from which they embark on new musical journeys together, creating open spaces for spontaneous improvisation and mutual interplay.
As in a dreamlike state, their music drifts from sparse to dense, from pop-like structures to free improvisation – but always staying true to the melody of the song and the calling of the moment.


Birds 02:01
Valentina 04:58
Patagonia I 03:55
Simp 04:49
Zahara (vinyl only) 04:03
13 Deers 04:45
N 05:34
Patagonia II 04:11
Slip Away 03:31


compositions by Johannes Haage (1-5,7,8) and Joe Smith (6,9)
produced by Johannes Haage
recorded by Peter Rahe, July 2014, Berlin
mixed and mastered by Wolfgang Schiefermair at Teldex Studios, Berlin
photos by Oliver Potratz
artwork by Nadine Targiel


The three musicians of German, Austrian and American origin met in their current home-base Berlin and have been playing extensively as a Trio for about four years.
They initially started playing standards and other jazz tunes but progressed to a more open, free kind of playing.
They concentrate on original compositions by Johannes Haage as well as by Joe Smith, ranging from simple pop-like song forms to denser harmonic structures and sparsely notated pieces with or without set time signatures.

With every performance they create a new improvisational space in which they further develop, stretch or deconstruct the melodies and forms of their compositions, joyfully dissolving the established roles of soloist and accompanist when the moment calls for it.


You may also like…