DRIFT_TRIO_Tito2017These musicians of German, Austrian and American origin met in their current home-base Berlin and have been playing extensively as a band for about five years.
The Trio “DRIFT” mainly works with compositions by guitarist Johannes Haage and drummer Joe Smith which offer a great variety of stylistic starting points from which they embark on new musical journeys together, creating open spaces for spontaneous improvisation and mutual interplay. As in a dreamlike state, their music drifts from sparse to dense, from pop-like structures to free improvisation – but always staying true to the melody of the song and the calling of the moment.
The Group has played many concerts in Berlin (Atrane, Zig Zag, Donau115 etc) since its inception, and toured in Germany successfully in 2017 (Jazzfest Kassel etc.)

They recently finished recording their second album “Darwin´s Blues”, due out in early 2019, which features both bass players who are actively involved in the band: Founding member Matthias Pichler (Wolfgang Muthspiel Trio, Marc Copland etc.) as well as Oliver Potratz (Klima Kalima, Helen Schneider, etc.)
The new compositions by Haage and Smith on the Album expand the concept of their debut album “Drift” by adding new elements like overdubs, loops, extended instrumental techniques and electronic modifications to the acoustic sound of the Band, thus opening up new pathways for fresh new live exploration of the material.

Johannes Haage – guitar
Matthias Pichler / Oliver Potratz – bass
Joe Smith – drums

12″ LP Drift sb15009
12″ LP / CD Darwin´s Blues sb19014