Darwin´s Blues

sb19014_DRIFT_Darwins Blues_COVER_sm_web“Darwin’s Blues” is the second album by Johannes Haage´s trio “DRIFT”.

The new compositions by Haage and the drummer Joe Smith represent a further development of the predecessor in many respects; they have become more complex, more varied, more sophisticated, expand the hitherto purely acoustic sonic concept through elements such as overdubs, loops and electronic modification, and open up new ways of working with the material spontaneously in a live setting.
On “Darwin’s Blues”, both bassists can be heard who are currently actively involved in the group: founding member Matthias Pichler (Wolfgang Muthspiel Trio, Marc Copland, etc.) as well as Oliver Potratz (Klima Kalima, Helen Schneider, etc.).

The new compositions offer a great variety of stylistic starting points from which the musicians embark on musical journeys together, creating open spaces for spontaneous improvisation and mutual interplay. As in a dreamlike state, their music drifts from sparse to dense, from song structures to free improvisation – but always staying true to the melody of the song and the calling of the moment.
At any given time, the three musicians are equal improvisational actors who let the music develop together without having to put their individual technical skills to the fore.
The pieces by Haage and Smith complement each other on “Darwin’s Blues”, because they are different in structure and genesis – whereas Haage’s pieces here, depending on the focus, are harmonically, melodically or rhythmically very structured, Smith has uses his very personal, vocal-like spontaneous compositional process.

pre-order now, shipping January 26:
Compact Disc (incl Sales Tax)
Price(EUR): €14.00

available for pre-order, expected soon:

LP only (180g) with personal Download Code for hi res audio (incl Sales Tax)
Price(EUR): €18.00

Johannes Haage – guitar
Matthias Pichler / Oliver Potratz- bass
Joe Smith- drums


Darwin´s Blues
Love Strangers
Free Range
The News (Vinyl Only)
Love in the Crazy*
Til Stranden*
Love in the Crazy (Reprise)*

*digital Bonus Tracks

all compositions by Johannes Haage (1,4,6,8-10) and Joe Smith (2,3,5,7,11)
produced by Johannes Haage
recorded January 2017 and July 2017 by Tito Knapp at Zentrifuge, Berlin
mixed and mastered by Wolfgang Schiefermair
at Teldex Studios, Berlin
Original Artwork by Angelika Arendt
Design by Liz Kozack

limited edition 12″ LP sb19014 (180g) available soon
including personal Downloadcode for hi res Audio files of full Album
+bonus tracks
also available on Compact Disc (pocketpak)